Every so often, I will get a question that goes something like this: “I hit my ball into a sand bunker and I don’t know how to hit out of a bunker. Can I declare my ball unplayable and go back to the spot where I last hit to replay the shot”. A player who is terrified of the sand might think that a one stroke penalty is worth it to get out of the sand. Professional golfers would not think that way because they are not willing to take the penalty stroke.
A player can declare any ball unplayable, at any time, for any reason, and anywhere on the course other than in a water hazard. The penalty is one stroke with three options to proceed under. Those options are:
*Return to the spot of the previous stroke and play again
*Drop within two club lengths, not nearer the hole
*Drop behind the spot, going back as far as you would like, keeping the original spot between the hole and the new place where you drop
If you declare a ball unplayable and use the second or third option, you must drop in the bunker. The player is the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable. For a more extensive explanation, read over Rule 28 Ball Unplayable.
Frank Guastella, PGA Master Professional
Michigan PGA Rules Official
Staff Writer for Mike Fay Golf
To “follow” Frank on Twitter click here